News Flash


Posted on: July 3, 2018

Notice of Primary Election August 14th, 2018



To the Electors of the County of Otter Tail:

Notice is Hereby Given, That a Primary Election will be held in all 92 Election Precincts located in Otter Tail County, on Tuesday, the  Fourteenth (14th) day of August 2018, for nominating candidates for the following offices, which are to be voted for at the General Election to be held on Tuesday, the Sixth (6th) day of November 2018, to wit:


United States Senator (Term Ending January 3, 2025) - (All 92 Precincts)

United States Senator (Special Election for Term Ending January 3, 2021) - (All 92 Precincts)

One Representative in the United States House of Representatives for Congressional District 7 - (All 92 Precincts)


Governor and Lieutenant Governor - (All 92 Precincts)

Attorney General - (All 92 Precincts)



One County Commissioner for the Second (2nd) Commissioner District - (17 Precincts)

One County Commissioner for the Fourth (4th) Commissioner District - (28 Precincts)

County Sheriff - (All 92 Precincts)


Please note the polls will be open for voting from the hour of seven (7) o’clock a.m. and will remain open for voting until the hour of eight (8) o’clock p.m. except for the following townships that have notified the Otter Tail County Auditor-Treasurer’s office that their polls will open for voting on Tuesday, August 14th, 2018 as authorized by Minnesota Statute 204C.05 Subdivision 1a at the times noted below:

Aastad Township                      10 A.M            Amor Township                                   10 A.M.          

Blowers Township                    10 A.M.           Bluffton Township                                 8 A.M.                       

Butler Township                       10 A.M.           Carlisle Township                                10 A.M.          

Corliss Township                     10 A.M.           Dead Lake Township                            10 A.M.          

Effington Township                  10 A.M.           Elmo Township                                    10 A.M.          

Folden Township                      10 A.M.           Homestead Township                           10 A.M.          

Inman Township                      10 A.M.           Leaf Mountain Township                      10 A.M.          

Maplewood Township              10 A.M.           Norwegian Grove Township                 10 A.M.          

Oak Valley Township               10 A.M.           Orwell Township                                  10 A.M.

Oscar Township                       10 A.M.           Paddock Township                               10 A.M.          

Parkers Prairie Township          10 A.M.           Star Lake Township                              10 A.M.          

Trondhjem Township                10 A.M.           Woodside Township                             10 A.M.

(Note – Under the provisions of Minnesota Statute 204C.05 Subdivision 1a the governing body of a town with less than 500 inhabitants according to the most recent federal decennial census may fix a later time for voting to begin at state primary, special, or general elections, if approved by a vote of the town electors at the annual town meeting.  The later time may not be later than 10:00 a.m. for special, primary, or general elections.  The above-listed townships have notified Otter Tail County of their later time for voting to begin.  If your specific township is not listed above and your townships total population is less than 500 according to the most recent census, please contact your township to determine if a later time has been established.)

Should you have any questions regarding the upcoming Primary Election (polling place location, hours for voting, etc.) please feel free to contact the Otter Tail County Voter Registration office at (218) 998-8040 or 8041.  Information regarding your polling place location, the status of your voter registration, a sample ballot as well as absentee ballot information can also be found at  General information regarding elections/voting is available at

Wayne Stein County Auditor-Treasurer                                                                         Dated:  July 3, 2018

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email