License Fees

Driver's License Renewal
Submit current drivers license. Vision test and photo taken. Applicants under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent.

Driver's License Duplicate

Proof of identity must be submitted when there is a change of name or address. Applicants under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent.

State Identification Card
Submit proof of identity. Photo taken.

Driver's Instruction Permit
Submit valid test score sheet or current permit. If replacing a lost or stolen permit, proof of identity must be presented. Vision test taken. Applicants under 18 year of age must be accompanied by a parent.

Fees & Requirements
Licenses
  • Class A regular $45.25
  • Class A under 21 $22.25
  • Class B regular $37.25
  • Class C regular $27.25
  • Class D regular/under 21 $26.25 or $22.75 if driver's record has no violations
  • Duplicate license $15.75
  • Driver's Instruction Permit $14.25
  • Motorcycle Endorsement $13.00
  • School Bus Endorsement $4.00
Identification Cards
  • Under age 65 $20.25
  • Age 65 and older $16.50
  • Duplicate $15.75
  • Developmental disability/physically disabled $ .50
Motor Vehicle - Registration Renewal
Applicant submits renewal notice. Registered owner's or spouse's signature is required. If the renewal notice was lost or not received, the applicant must provide the vehicle license plate number so the office can access state records and issue the renewal.

Fees vary, according to the classification and year of vehicle.

Motor Vehicle - Registration from Out-of-State
Submit foreign state title or current registration with lenders information if title is unavailable. Applicant provides: current odometer reading, and drivers license or state issued identification card. If there is a lien against the vehicle, the owner must provide the name and complete address of the lender, as well as the date of the loan. Owner's signature is required on the Minnesota Title application.

Motor Vehicle - Transfer of Minnesota Title
Buyer presents completed title certificate and drivers license or state issued identification card. "Seller's" portion of title, including signature(s), date of sale, odometer statement, and damage and emissions disclosure statements, must be completed by the seller(s).

Motor Vehicle - Other Transactions Available
Duplicate Title, Plate, Registration Card, Sticker Applications, Disability Parking Certificate and Special Plate Applications.

Game & Fish Licenses
Small game and fish licenses go on sale in mid February. Small game and fish licenses are valid from March 1st through February 28th of the following year. Big game licenses go on sale in mid August. Deer hunting season starts in early November. Duplicate, special disability, foreign exchange, military and replacement licenses are available at the Otter Tail County License Division/Center. When applying for a resident license, proof of Minnesota residency is required by providing a Minnesota Drivers License or a State Identification Card.

Fees vary, according to type(s) of license(s) purchased.

Cross-Country Ski Licenses
Daily, Annual, or Three-year license available. Required for groomed trails in state and county parks.

Fees vary, according to type of license purchased.

Watercraft, Snowmobile, All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Registration
Watercraft: Owner provides make, year, length and serial number of watercraft, motor size if applicable, and his or her drivers license number and signature. For titled watercraft being transferred, transfer must be executed on Minnesota or foreign-state title. License is valid for three years.

Fees vary, according to type, length, and use of craft.

Snowmobile
Owner provides make, model, year, serial number, and engine size (hp or cubic centimeters), and his or her drivers license number and signature. License is valid for three years.
  • Fee for registration: $45 plus $3.50 issuing fee.
  • 3 year + Trail Permit (available only at time of renewal) $ 31
  • 1 year Trail permit $ 16
All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV)
Owner provides make, model, year, serial number, dry weight, and engine size (hp or cubic centimeters), and his or her drivers license number and signature. License is valid for three years.

Fee for registration is $47.50 plus $3.50 issuing fee.

Notarizations
The person whose signature is being notarized must present identification to the Notary Public.

Fee for registration is $2 for each notarization executed.

Was this page helpful for you? Yes No